readers suggest: “The Awesomest 7-Year Postdoc or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Tenure-Track Faculty Life”

book

We often struggle to make our career a life in a wholesome way or vice-versa. Here is a great article submitted by a reader concerning this issue we all face and how one woman dealt with it.

Even though this article is written by a woman in academia in the sciences, I think it is relevant to everyone (any gender, any discipline, any stage of schooling/career) who is concerned about having a personally fulfilling career + life:

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/2013/07/21/the-awesomest-7-year-postdoc-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-tenure-track-faculty-life/

from the article:

Seven things I did during my first seven years at Harvard. Or, how I loved being a tenure-track faculty member, by deliberately trying not to be one.

  • I decided that this is a 7-year postdoc.
  • I stopped taking advice.
  • I created a “feelgood” email folder.
  • I work fixed hours and in fixed amounts.
  • I try to be the best “whole” person I can.
  • I found real friends.
  • I have fun “now”.

 


{Kuntsrule stories are written by our readers. Share your own at Kuntsrule Submission.}
pics via weheartit.com

 

Leave a Reply

