a morning toast to all the moms

 

m-is-for-mom-2

forget about childbirth being painful. that’s just the beginning of a long saga of scrapes and scratches, sibling disputes, failed geography tests, middle school bullies, questionable love interests and recreational habits…a magnificent thank you and i love you to all the moms who took on the challenge of us, their children.

mom potty trained me with M&Ms, taught me to make curried lentils, made me do math over my summer breaks so i’d stay smart, owned two CDs (Bob Marley and Backstreet Boys) that she played over and over on the way to school. mom drank tea with me every morning and night, she told me never to turn the other cheek but to hit right back (questionable), she didn’t let me quit tae kwon do, she forgot she was meant to be the tooth fairy once. mom gave me a bowl cut and blamed it on my dad, mom doesn’t like babies or dogs (unless they are her own). i’ve only ever seen mom cry three times. mom stood up for me when i was too scared to stand up for myself. mom taught me how to stand up for myself. mom taught me how to shop classy on the sale rack. i love my mom, today and every day. thank you for everything, nlh!

tell us about your mom.

One thought on “a morning toast to all the moms

Leave a Reply

